News Made Clear · Loading…
News Made Clear · Loading…
Eleven South Australian restaurants have received Australia’s first Michelin stars. Magill Estate Restaurant earned two stars; 10 others received one. The state government funded inspectors’ visit but has not disclosed the cost. [1]
Review information is loading.
South Australia has received Australia’s first Michelin stars, with 11 restaurants recognised in the guide’s inaugural awards for the country. Magill Estate Restaurant in Adelaide was the sole two-star recipient; 10 other venues received one star each, the BBC reports. [1]
The state government paid for Michelin’s inspectors to visit, according to Australia’s ABC broadcaster. No restaurants elsewhere in Australia were included. The government has not disclosed the cost. Tourism Minister Emily Bourke defended the spending to ABC News, saying: “It is enabling us to create a tourism destination and put us on the world map.” [1]
The one-star list includes Arkhé, known for open-fire cooking, and Aptos, whose tasting menu focuses on native Australian ingredients. The wider guide also features more than 70 South Australian restaurants, some recognised with a Bib Gourmand for good food at more moderate prices. [1]
Michelin’s guide began in France in 1900, created by brothers André and Édouard Michelin to encourage motorists to travel. Its stars were introduced in 1926. New Zealand became the first destination in Oceania to feature in the guide in July, agreeing to pay NZ$6.3m (£2.7m; $3.5m) over three years for inclusion. [1]
1 listed sources · explore evidence, limitations and provenance.
Sign in to give this article a thumbs up or down.
Private test discussion. Comments are readers’ views and are not yet automatically fact-checked. Editing is available for 60 seconds after posting.
Ask your question with @newsmadeclear or @nmc. You may receive 5 starter credits once after checks on your confirmed email and browser. The offer is once per person; extra accounts do not entitle you to another bonus. There is no monthly refill. Previous balances remain. A question costs 1 credit, including additional research you permit. A source you provide that demonstrably improves the article earns 5 credits. If your question helps Astra find the missing source and improve the article, you receive 1 credit back.
Sign in with a confirmed reader account and choose a username to read comments and participate.
Sorting applies to top-level comments; replies remain oldest first. New comments and likes can change the order. Refresh for the current ranking.
Loading comments…
Interested in advertising with News Made Clear? Explore our pilot.